|Anonymous | Login | Signup for a new account||2018-04-21 15:45 PDT|
|Main | My View | View Issues | Change Log | Roadmap|
|View Issue Details|
|ID||Project||Category||View Status||Date Submitted||Last Update|
|0000806||Core Inform||Model world||public||2011-11-20 05:42||2014-05-07 07:33|
|Platform||x86||OS||Mac OS X||OS Version||10.5|
|Target Version||Fixed in Version||6L02|
|Summary||0000806: A spurious report of darkness is reported when exiting a closed container|
|Description||On exiting the Crypt, the game prints:|
You can't see a thing.
followed by the correct room description.
|Minimal Source Text To Reproduce|
The Crypt is a room. The coffin is a container in the Crypt. The coffin is enterable. The coffin is openable. After entering the coffin: say "It slams shut on you!"; now the coffin is closed. Before exiting from the closed coffin: try opening the coffin.
|Additional Information||The "describe room emerged into" rule is producing the report of darkness; the normal room description is then produced by a looking action (which I suspect is triggered when the game belatedly recognizes the lighting change). |
In this case, this rule fixes the problem by suppressing the describe room emerged into rule:
Report exiting from the coffin (this is the don't describe the darkness rule): rule succeeds.
The don't describe the darkness rule is listed after the standard report exiting rule in the report exiting rulebook.
But that clearly would not work in general.
|Tags||No tags attached.|
|Effect||(serious/mild) Game compiles but misbehaves|
|See also http://www.intfiction.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=3714. [^]|
|A fix involving the I6 Position Player In Model World Rule has now been posted in the above thread.|
|Actually, that fix was for a different bug, which I hope to file later tonight.|
|Testing it out with another scenario: if you write a rule that automatically moves the player from a closed container without opening it, this bug doesn't happen. (And of course, if you open the box and exit on separate turns, then the box is lighted and this bug doesn't happen.) It seems as though it only happens when you try opening and exiting on the same turn.|
|2011-11-20 05:42||mattweiner||New Issue|
|2011-11-20 05:43||mattweiner||Note Added: 0001460|
|2011-11-20 05:57||mattweiner||Note Added: 0001461|
|2011-11-20 15:19||mattweiner||Note Added: 0001462|
|2011-11-22 12:32||EmacsUser||Status||new => confirmed|
|2011-11-26 07:44||mattweiner||Note Added: 0001466|
|2014-02-13 14:58||graham||Status||confirmed => resolved|
|2014-02-13 14:58||graham||Resolution||open => fixed|
|2014-02-13 14:58||graham||Assigned To||=> graham|
|2014-05-07 07:32||jmcgrew||Fixed in Version||=> 6L02|
|2014-05-07 07:33||jmcgrew||Status||resolved => closed|
|Copyright © 2000 - 2010 MantisBT Group|